Thomas Emde began his artistic career as a painter. The materiality and perception of color quickly became the focus of his work.

 

Light soon appeared as an additional element: color and daylight were intermingled to create environments of colored light. The concentration on the medium of light, as the immaterial vehicle for conveying color, was the next logical step. Alongside smaller light objects, beginning at the end of the 1990s he executed numerous architecturally-related light art projects both at home and abroad. Thomas Emde has devoted himself exclusively to artistic architectural lighting since 1999, maintaining offices in Frankfurt am Main and Doha (Qatar).

 

The underlying approach Thomas Emde invariably pursues for an architectural lighting project is to first define the light conditions of the area or structure and then develop the correspondingly ideal methods of technical implementation. This approach has allowed for the development of new product solutions and numerous now-patented, innovative lighting technologies. One of Thomas Emde’s most interesting developments as an inventor is a lightbulb-shaped OLED illuminant that fits into the traditional screw-in socket.

 

 


 

 

emdedesign GmbH

emdedesign stands for developing good light – good for people and good for planet earth. A respectful handling of the resource light is the basis for our activities. Thereby the principle of less is more remains essential for us: making products better through intelligent solutions that remove instead of add.

OMLED

OMLED is the light brand of emdedesign GmbH, which was founded in 2013 in Frankfurt. With OMLED emdedesign introduced the worldwide first OLED light family with affordable products for daily purposes in 2014.

emde projects GmbH

Thomas Emde and his team are looking back on more than sixteen years international experience in developing and realising artistic light architectures – among them many major projects such as the illumination of Frankfurt’s Cathedral or the Falcon Market in Qatar.

Thomas Emde begann seine künstlerische Karriere als Maler. Schon früh stand die Auseinandersetzung mit Materialität und Wahrnehmung von Farbe im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeiten.

 

Bald trat das Licht als zusätzliches Element hinzu: Farbe und Tageslicht wurden zu Farblichträumen kombiniert. Die Konzentration auf das Medium Licht – verstanden als immaterieller Träger von Farbe – war der nächste, folgerichtige Schritt. Neben kleineren Lichtobjekten entstanden ab Ende der 1990er Jahre zahlreiche architekturbezogene Lichtkunstprojekte im In- und Ausland. Ab 1999 widmete sich Thomas Emde ausschließlich der künstlerischen Architekturbeleuchtung und unterhielt Büros in Frankfurt und Doha/Katar.

 

Seinen Projekten zur Architekturbeleuchtung legte Thomas Emde stets den Anspruch zugrunde, zuerst die Lichtwirkung des Ortes oder Gebäudes zu definieren und dann die hierfür perfekte technische Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten zu entwickeln. Aus diesem Ansatz heraus entstanden neue Produktlösungen und zahlreiche Patente für die Anwendung innovativer Lichttechnologien. Eine der interessantesten Entwicklungen von Thomas Emde als Erfinder ist ein OLED-Leuchtmittel in Form einer Glühbirne, das in herkömmliche Schraubsockelfassungen eingedreht werden kann.

 

 


 

 

emdedesign GmbH

emdedesign steht für die Entwicklung guten Lichts – gut für die Menschen und für den Planeten Erde. Ein achtungsvoller Umgang mit der Ressource Licht ist Basis unserer Aktivitäten. Dabei gilt für uns der Grundsatz „Weniger ist Mehr“: Produkte besser machen durch intelligente Lösungen, die weglassen anstelle hinzuzufügen.

OMLED

OMLED ist die Leuchtenmarke der emdedesign GmbH, die 2013 mit Sitz in Frankfurt am Main gegründet wurde. Unter ihrem Label OMLED hat emdedesign 2014 die weltweit erste OLED-Leuchtenfamilien mit bezahlbaren Produkten für alltägliche Beleuchtungszwecke vorgestellt.

emde projects GmbH

Thomas Emde und sein Team blicken auf eine mehr als sechzehnjährige internationale Erfahrung mit künstlerischer Architekturbeleuchtung zurück – darunter zahlreiche Großprojekte wie die Beleuchtung des Frankfurter Kaiserdoms oder des Falkenmarktes in Katar.